Quick answer: an influencer marketing agency finds creators, negotiates, writes contracts, approves content and reports back, and charges for that work on top of what creators are paid. Indian agencies publish three models: a monthly retainer (two agency guides put it at ₹1.5 lakh to ₹6 lakh), a share of creator spend (15% to 25% in the same guides), or a fixed plan (one Delhi agency lists management plans from ₹9,999 a month, creator fees extra). On budgets under ₹1 lakh, a retainer can cost more than the whole campaign.
What an influencer marketing agency actually does
An agency works for the brand. It shortlists creators, checks their audience, negotiates rates, writes the brief and contract, collects drafts, chases deadlines, makes sure posts carry the right disclosure, and sends you a report at the end.
An influencer management agency (often called talent management) is the other side of the table. It represents creators, not brands, and takes a cut of what the creator earns. One agency guide says macro and celebrity creators mostly work through talent managers who add a 15% to 25% commission on top of the creator's rate. If you book a large creator through a marketing agency, you may be paying both layers.
How common is the agency route? In Influencer Marketing Hub's benchmark survey, 66.33% of respondents run their programmes entirely in-house, 10.71% use a mix, and 10.71% rely entirely on an agency. That survey is not India specific, but it shows agencies are one option among several, not the default.
How Indian agencies charge
We found no independent survey of Indian agency fees, only agencies publishing their own ranges and price lists. Read every number below as what that agency says, not as a market rate.
| Model | Published figure | Who says so | Creator fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly retainer | ₹1.5 lakh to ₹6 lakh a month | upGrowth and Grynow guides (both agencies) | Paid separately |
| Retainer, basic execution | ₹75,000 to ₹1.5 lakh a month | Unikqo guide (an agency) | Paid separately |
| Share of creator spend | 15% to 25% of creator spend | upGrowth and Grynow guides | Fee added on top |
| Commission on creator payouts | 15% to 30% | Unikqo guide | Fee added on top |
| Per campaign | ₹50,000 to ₹5 lakh per campaign | upGrowth and Grynow guides | Usually separate |
| Campaign management fee | 20% to 35% of total campaign value | Unikqo guide | Inside the total |
| Fixed monthly plan | ₹9,999 to ₹74,999 a month | HivePulse Media's own price list (Delhi) | Excluded |
Three things stand out. First, every model sits on top of creator fees. HivePulse's page says it plainly: "These are agency management fees only." Second, minimum budgets are vague. Grynow says "There is no fixed minimum budget." upGrowth calls ₹1.5 lakh a month a realistic minimum for a consistent programme and warns: "Below Rs 1 lakh a month, discovery and contracting overhead eats most of the budget." Third, the percentage model has a built-in conflict. upGrowth notes the agency earns more when creators cost more, and tells brands to "insist on transparent contracts and spend audit rights."
For what creators themselves charge per Reel, Story and video, see our influencer marketing cost guide for India. It has the full price list and sample budgets, so we will not repeat it here.
Agency vs self-serve marketplace vs going direct
| Agency | Self-serve marketplace | Going direct | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who finds creators | The agency | You, from listings with prices | You, by DM and search |
| Who negotiates and chases | The agency | You, with fixed packages | You |
| What you pay on top | Retainer, plan or 15% to 30% (published ranges above) | Platform fee (check each platform's pricing page) | Nothing, except your time |
| Payment protection | Depends on the contract | Depends on the platform | None, unless your contract adds it |
| Your time | Low | Medium | High |
| Best for | Large multi-city launches, celebrity talent, regulated categories | Small and mid budgets, testing, repeat creators | A handful of creators you already know |
When an agency is the right call:
- Big launches across many cities. Dozens of creators, regional languages and on-ground shoots in one week is a coordination job, and that is what agencies sell.
- Celebrity or macro talent. These creators mostly sit behind managers, and an agency with existing relationships can get you a reply. Our micro vs macro influencers guide helps you decide if you need that tier at all.
- Finance, health and other sensitive categories. ASCI's guidelines say influencers giving stock or investment advice should be registered with SEBI, and health and nutrition claims need relevant qualifications. Paying someone to vet every script can be cheaper than the cleanup.
For most small and mid-sized brands, the bigger cost is not the fee. It is the hours. Our guides on how to find influencers for your brand and UGC agency vs marketplace cover doing it yourself in detail.
See what creators charge before you brief an agency. Browse creators with published package prices and verified stats, then decide if you need help at all.
Browse creatorsWorked example: how much reaches creators
Here is a ₹1 lakh and a ₹5 lakh budget run through each route. Fee ranges come from the agency sources in the table above. Creator prices are our own data: published listings on the InfluencerMetric marketplace, counted 12 October 2026, where the median Instagram Reel is ₹2,500, and creators who connected Instagram with 10,000 to 50,000 followers list Reels at a median of ₹4,750 (8 packages, so read it as a direction). All figures are before GST.
How we did the maths: a "share of creator spend" fee is added on top, so at 25% the creators get ₹1 lakh divided by 1.25. A "share of campaign value" fee comes out of the total.
₹1 lakh budget (Reels at the ₹2,500 median)
| Route | Reaches creators | Reels at ₹2,500 |
|---|---|---|
| Agency retainer, ₹1.5 lakh minimum (upGrowth, Grynow) | Nothing; the retainer alone is over budget | 0 |
| Agency at 15% to 25% of creator spend | ₹80,000 to ₹86,957 | 32 to 34 |
| HivePulse Instagram Growth plan, ₹19,999 | ₹80,001 | 32 |
| Self-serve platform at 8% to 15% (upGrowth's range) | ₹85,000 to ₹92,000 | 34 to 36 |
| Going direct | ₹1,00,000 | 40 |
At ₹1 lakh, the percentage routes are within a few Reels of each other. The real trap is the retainer: it does not fit at all.
₹5 lakh budget (Reels at the ₹4,750 median for 10,000 to 50,000 followers)
| Route | Reaches creators | Reels at ₹4,750 |
|---|---|---|
| Agency retainer at ₹1.5 lakh, the bottom of the range | ₹3,50,000 | 73 |
| Campaign fee at 20% to 35% of total (Unikqo) | ₹3,25,000 to ₹4,00,000 | 68 to 84 |
| Agency at 15% to 25% of creator spend | ₹4,00,000 to ₹4,34,783 | 84 to 91 |
| Self-serve platform at 8% to 15% | ₹4,25,000 to ₹4,60,000 | 89 to 96 |
| Direct, plus a coordinator at ₹50,000 to ₹1 lakh (upGrowth) | ₹4,00,000 to ₹4,50,000 | 84 to 94 |
At ₹5 lakh you are managing 70 to 90 deliverables. Going direct stops being free: upGrowth suggests budgeting ₹50,000 to ₹1 lakh a month for coordination once you pass 40 creators. That is when an agency fee starts to buy something real. To plan your own split, try the free campaign budget planner.
Questions to ask an agency before you sign
- Who owns the content, and for how long can we use it? Under Section 19 of the Copyright Act, no assignment of copyright is valid unless it is in writing and signed. If the period is not stated, it is deemed to be five years; if the territory is not stated, it is presumed to be India. Get ads, website and marketplace use named in writing. Our usage rights guide explains how creators price this, and whitelisting and partnership ads covers running posts as ads.
- How do you vet creators? Ask to see the audience data for every name on the shortlist, not just follower counts. You can check any shortlist yourself with our guide to spotting fake followers or the free audience quality checker.
- Who handles ASCI disclosure? ASCI puts responsibility on both the advertiser and the influencer, and says the advertiser shall, where needed, ask the influencer to delete or edit a post or its label. Hiring an agency does not move that off you. Our disclosure rules guide lists the labels.
- Is your fee a share of creator spend? Can we see creator invoices? If yes to the first, ask for the second. That is the spend audit right upGrowth recommends.
- What else is billed? Unikqo notes that some agencies charge access fees for their internal tools on top of retainers or commissions. Ask for every line in writing.
- What reporting do we get? Ask for per-creator views, reach, clicks and code redemptions, and the raw export, not only a slide. Our influencer ROI guide shows what to measure.
- What are the exit terms? Notice period, minimum months, what happens to creator money not yet spent, and whether you keep creator contacts. HivePulse, for example, offers monthly rolling contracts but recommends at least three months.
Does the agency's city matter?
Searches for an agency in Bangalore or Mumbai make sense when you need people on the ground: store visits, event coverage, shoots with physical product. For Reels shot at home, the creator's city matters more than the agency's. A small city creator can serve a national brand from anywhere, as our piece on tier 2 and tier 3 creators shows.
Want to run your first campaign without a retainer? Find creators, check verified stats, and book them. Payment is held until you approve the work.
Create a brand accountFAQ
How much does an influencer marketing agency charge in India?
Published agency guides put retainers at ₹1.5 lakh to ₹6 lakh a month, or 15% to 25% of creator spend, with creator fees paid separately. One Delhi agency lists fixed management plans from ₹9,999 to ₹74,999 a month. These are agencies' own figures, not an independent survey.
Is an agency worth it for a small business?
Usually not below ₹1 lakh a month. Even an agency, upGrowth, says that below that level overhead eats most of the budget. Start with a few creators yourself, using a written campaign brief, and bring in help when coordination takes over your week.
What is the difference between an influencer marketing agency and an influencer management agency?
A marketing agency works for the brand and runs campaigns. A management agency works for creators and takes a commission from their deals, which one agency guide puts at 15% to 25% for macro and celebrity talent.
Can I use an agency and a marketplace together?
Yes. Book everyday creators yourself and keep an agency for one or two big launches a year. Compare options in our platforms comparison.
Sources
- InfluencerMetric marketplace: published listings counted 12 October 2026 (173 packages from 72 creators; Reel medians as stated).
- upGrowth: Influencer marketing pricing India 2026
- Grynow: Influencer Marketing Cost in India (2026)
- Unikqo: Influencer Marketing Agency Fees in India
- HivePulse Media: Influencer Marketing Packages India
- Influencer Marketing Hub: Influencer marketing statistics
- ASCI: Guidelines for Influencer Advertising in Digital Media
- Indian Kanoon: Section 19, Copyright Act 1957, Mode of assignment